RSS Feed

A crack pie-inspired shake

Smoothie

Nutella Crack Pie.

Before seeing the post at Show Food Chef, the words Nutella Crack Pie had me hooked.  I’ll admit that I’ve been unable to shake the idea of making a crack pie-inspired something.

Chilled hemp milk and a frozen banana make this shake thick and frothy.  I thought about adding maple syrup or agave nectar, but the natural sweetness from a very ripe banana was just right for this liquid lunch.

Crack Pie-Inspired Shake

1 cup hemp milk

2 TB almond butter

2 TB mesquite flour

1 ripe banana, frozen

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Top with a crumbled oatmeal cookie or gluten free granola.

I just love storing ripe bananas in the freezer, defrosting as needed.  Those overly ripe bananas are ugly, sure, but can’t be beat in banana shakes, bread, and cookies.

That is one ripe banana!

Still here?  Today’s Let’s Lunch on twitter features liquid lunches.  Drink in the delicious posts rounded up by Cheryl Tan from A  Tiger in the Kitchen.

Caitlin‘s Spring Greens Soup with Homemade Baguette at Caitlin Shetterly

Cathy‘s Nut Milk at Show Food Chef

Denise‘s Mango Lassi at Chez Us

Eleanor‘s Turnip, Chinese Mushroom & Pork Soup at Be a Wok Star

Ellise‘s Cucumber-Avocado Gazpacho at Cowgirl Chef

Emma‘s Ham-Hock Soup at Dreaming of Pots & Pans

Mai‘s Peanut Butter-Espresso Smoothie at Cooking in The Fruit Bowl

Rashda‘s Spring Pea & Mint Soup at Hot Curries & Cold Beer

Steff‘s Gazpacho at The Kitchen Trials

Cheryl‘s Miso-Bacon-Corn Chowder at A Tiger in the Kitchen

Chris‘s Asparagus & Artichoke Bisque at Blog Well Done

-Linda

Bookmark and Share

About Free Range Cookies

Hi, I'm Linda. Welcome to Free Range Cookies, a St. Louis food blog with focus on gluten free baking and recipe development. Have a question or comment? Contact me at freerangecookies (at) gmail (dot) com.

6 responses »

  1. You had me at “crack pie.” (And how did I miss Show Food Chef’s Nutella Crack Pie?!) This looks amazing — brilliant combination! I’ve never frozen ripe bananas before…such a good idea. I’ve thrown out so many super ripe bananas in my lifetime. Can’t wait to try this recipe out…xx

    Reply
  2. Well, I am honored 😀 I freeze bananas, too and I think I just saw what I’ll be using them for this weekend, oh yeahhhh. Great idea!

    Reply
  3. You are KILLING me. Almond butter (my favorite thing – of course mine is loaded with cane sugar), and chocolate? This could be the thing that makes me a banana fan 4-ever.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Cucumber-Avocado Gazpacho

  5. I’m with Cheryl — you had me at Crack Pie. This sounds awesome!

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.